Broadband and extension lead.

jtw 19:53 06 Apr 03

Have Freeserve Anytime at moment and want to upgrade to broadband. We use a telephone extension to reach our pc (in different room to socket). Freeserve say this may cause probs with broadband.
Anybody use extension lead and are there probs?

graham 20:12 06 Apr 03

You will have no problems at all! Extensions, whether hard-wired or leads, will be perfectly OK for broadband.

siouxah1 20:18 06 Apr 03

Hello jtw, I'm Using PIPEX BB.

I installed my own extension leads throughout my house. Two extension sockets to two floors from main socket downstairs. Use an extension lead from the nearest to the phone and router/modem. In all have four phones and the router. Not had any problem whatsoever.

Must say that I did run cable through trunking and used correct extension sockets for most of the fitting. I am not a phone engineer or anything like one. Give it a try.

Regards Brian j

pc moron 21:44 06 Apr 03

I agree with graham and siouxah1.

I've recently gone over to broadband and run it on the same ordinary telephone extension as my dial-up- no problems at all.

Eagie 21:54 06 Apr 03

I have Fresserve broadband and use an extension. I have put the filter at the end of the extension and have never had a problem.

Cantillion 22:28 06 Apr 03

My Freeserve broadband connection runs through two extensions and two splitters - no problems whatsoever.

mikef™ 11:25 07 Apr 03

Same here my BB runs through a permanent wired extension.

Mev 14:05 07 Apr 03