Broadband Dongle

Braniff 13:28 PM 12 Jun 11

I am moving home and am changing provier and will be without the internet for a while. I am not very good at all this technical stuff and would like some simple advice if possible please. If I buy a broadband dongle will that give me access to the internet and how does it work if my home has no access?

Zeppelyn 13:41 PM 12 Jun 11

It uses the mobile phone network. First thing would be to check which provider gives the best coverage in your area. Vodafone, O2 etc all have a coverage checker on their websites.

Braniff 13:49 PM 12 Jun 11

I have found that O2 and Orange are the best in that area. Do I just buy one and put it in pc and thats it? I would need it for a bout 2 months.

amonra 13:51 PM 12 Jun 11

Just dont expect lightning fast downloads, especially at peak times.

Ian in Northampton 13:56 PM 12 Jun 11

You buy a USB dongle, and, typically, with it a certain amount of download capacity. Last time I did this, I think it was about £20 - 25 for 3Gig. Then, when that runs out, you typically top up the dongle (you don't have to buy the dongle itself again) for about £5 less than you paid originally.

It can be surprisingly effective: my son plays World of Warcraft when his landline goes down, and finds it OK.

woodchip 14:49 PM 12 Jun 11

T-Mobil use a Dongle called Web n Walk No Idea of the Cost I have used my Daughters when away from home

We'n'Walk link

rickf 15:38 PM 12 Jun 11

Have used one just to keep in touch with emails when I moved 8 months ago. Works but don't expect to stream videos etc., For filling the gap it's ok.

gel 16:29 PM 12 Jun 11

I am in a similar situation regarding moving house

I purchased a 3i dongle aprox £20 which gave 1GB and lasts 1 month

I then took the dongle with my lap top to the area and stayed in my touring caravan searching properties