Broadband disconnecting after inactivity

Agent Smith 09:41 20 Sep 04

I'm new to broadband (6 sept). I am connected with BT and I get disconnected after some time of perceived innactivity i.e. doing something else while connected. I've looked at their help files and done a search of this site's archive. I have the never disconnect option selected, antivirus software is up to date and a scan carried out. Adaware up to date and scanned, Spybot up to date and scanned and Spyware blaster up to date. I would welcome any advice that you may have.

Win XP home + SP1, Athlon XP3200, 512 DDR Ram, BT Voyager 105 Modem Asus mobo (can't remember model)

Noleg24 10:14 20 Sep 04

well it seems the problem is more to do with the modem...whats the actual model of the mobo? I use to work at BT Broadband and some of the problems customers were having was that their modem was not compatible with certain chipsets on their mobo such as SiS, VIA and Intel and this required them to update them also I would check Device Manager and go into the modem properties and click on Power Management and make sure the box that say Allow the computer to turn off this device is unticked...also I would ring the BT broadband helpdesk on 08702404650 and get some help. but if its Broadband Basic your on...its a different number (090 something) but here's a secret...they're actually the same department even tho its two different numbers...so just ring the first number and say you have the BT Voyager 105 and they should be able to help you if they say to ring the 090 number tell them you cant cos your phone is set to barring 090 numbers and you cant remember the PIN to deactivate it...it will work trust me...if not you can have a go at me...lol but it should be ok...just demand they fix it as its their modem...

nick_j007 10:33 20 Sep 04