Broadband connection keeps dropping!

MartynHoll 20:33 08 Jul 05

I have been using broadband with no problems for around 8 months. I was upgraded recently from 512K to 1MB and still no problems. After about a week, I started getting drop-outs after about 5 mins. The modem would go into training and then back to 'on line' and I would be able to connect again. I reported the line to BT and all was testing OK. I proved the PC to be OK, the internal wiring and the filters, so I am fairly certain that it is either a line fault, equipment fault or beyond!
This went on for about 2 days and then it was OK again - no drop-outs at all. This same sequence has been going on for about 3 weeks, the last good spell has lasted for 4 days... until this evening.
Has anyone got any good ideas as to how I can help BT find the fault as every time they test, it, it is OK.

Graham ® 20:42 08 Jul 05

Common causes of Broadband disconnections:

USB modem not getting sufficient power. The modem requires 500mA to function correctly. That is the maximum available on a USB hub. As a hub normally has two ports, the second port must not be used. The modem must be connected directly to the computer, not via an external hub.

The computer may be configured to turn off the modem to save power. In Device Manager, find the modem. It may be under Network adapters. Select Action, Properties, Power Management. Do a similar check on any Routers you are using.

Phone extension cabling may be prone to induced interference from mains wiring. If necessary, run a temporary extension lead to rule this out.

Radio interference from cordless, including DECT, telephones. Turn them off to prove.

Radio interference from taxis, CBs, neon lights, streetlights, etc. If this is suspected, BT can fit a suppressor to the incoming line.