bogus emails

MICKY BOY 09:01 01 Oct 06

Hi All,

Have in the last three days started to receive up to 30 spoof email return messages a day.
From different return mailers or failure return notices, all from email addresses I have no knowledge of.
All the emails supposedly sent by me, have a different name at the beginning of my email address(before the@ sign).
Have Kaspersky lab, Zone Alarm, spy sweeper and all the best software updated daily.
Have run virus checks several times nothing detected.
How can I find out who is sending these bogus emails and how can I stop them?
Regards

Mick

STREETWORK 09:06 01 Oct 06

These are randomly sent emails from Asia, etc. Ignore then. If your ISP has on-line email checking you may be able to set up anti-spam by keywords. I use Orange and it filters about 95% of spam mails so I do not get them...

MICKY BOY 09:14 01 Oct 06

thanks for your reply.
i use Orange as well(Freeserve.)
can i not stop them or trace them

Mick

VoG II 09:17 01 Oct 06

Try Mailwasher click here

MICKY BOY 09:59 01 Oct 06

Thanks a good software.
is the Pro version worth paying for? do you use the Pro version?

Mick

VoG II 10:04 01 Oct 06

I think that the free version is fine.

As it happens I do run the Pro version.

Forum Editor 11:07 01 Oct 06

or any other spam program will stop this happening - they'll simply help to keep your inbox clear of the bounced messages.

You'll continue to receive bounce notices as along as whoever/whatever is spoofing your email address continues to do so, and that can be many months. mailwasher will just allow you to stop them at the server, rather than downloading to your inbox.

Whatever you do, I strongly recommend that you do NOT use Mailwasher (or anything else) to bounce messages - you'll achieve nothing, except a sense of revenge, which is pretty pointless, and you'll be contributing even more rubbish to the tide of it which constantly swishes around the internet, slowing it down for all of us.