Blocked inkjet

Rodders6 18:47 31 Aug 05

I have a 6 year old Epson Stylus colour 640 inkjet printer. It has not had heavy use. Despite replacing colour and b/w artridges twice, and multiple cleaning cycles, the output as diminished particularly on red, but the other inks are getting worse.

I don't know if it is due to a blockage, but wonder if the cleaning / flushing liquid / cartridges are worth trying before I scrap it. It is not exonomical to replace the head.

Any sugestions appreciated. I am a TV video service engineer so I am not afarid of stripping it down,

€dstowe 18:55 31 Aug 05

6 years is a great age for a printer and, unlike some, Epson printers do not appreciate not having had heavy use. Epsons should be used at least once a week (if only to keep their pipes clean) otherwise the propensity for blockages is very high - as you are now seeing.

With the price of new printers being so low now, it really isn't worth your while bothering to rejuvenate it.

Gongoozler 19:02 31 Aug 05

For under £5 it might be worth trying cleaning cartridges click here, but although I don't like to be negative I think your chances of reviving this old printer are pretty slim.

ICF 19:04 31 Aug 05

From were I get my ink from it would cost you £8.99 to find out if a flush out would work.

jack 20:08 31 Aug 05

Well there you are. New printer on the horizon then -got a birthday coming yo -can you wait till Christmas?
If in the interim you feel like having a fool around
here are some zero cost tips.
Down load the SSC utilitiy- click here com.
this takes a bit of time to figure out what it can do, but is very effective.

Make your self a cleaning cartridge[s]
Take a selt of old carts and pierce the refill hole
find a syringe or a refill squeezy bottle and fill the chambers with ionized distilled water[steam iron-battery stuff] and suck it out and dispose.
Now refill with more and do the same.
Refill this time with ionized water with about