Bios update to fix Premiere Elements problem

Gran 01:27 21 Dec 04

I have just installed Adobe Premiere Elements and it fails on startup, so I have uninstalled it. This is a known problem, listed on the Adobe knowledge base (doc 330771), with some processor/motherboard combinations which don't support SSE. (I don't know what SSE actually does!)

My processor is an AMD Athlon XP1900 and the motherboard is an ASUS A7A266-E. From the AMD website, it appears that this type 6 AMD processor does support SSE. There is a bios update to provide SSE support for the motherboard on the ASUS website. Adobe knowledge base recomends updating the bios as one of the solutions.

I am not happy about attempting this, having seen many warnings on this forum.

Is it safe and sensible to attempt an update? I've never done one before, although I am quite familiar with building and fixing PC's. Can anyone advise me please?

Thank you. Gran.

Diodorus Siculus 08:01 21 Dec 04

Nowadays bios flashing is a fairly safe procedure as long as you follow the instructions step by step.

I would only do it if it were, a) certain to solve the problem, and b) the *only* way to solve it.

Gran 09:49 21 Dec 04

Thank you for your reply. I'm checking everything I can before I attempt the bios update.

Is it possible to advise me where would I normally find the instructions for flashing the bios? Should it be included with the individual update, or is there a general instruction for all updating somewhere? This type of updating is very new to me.

Gran.

TomJerry 09:51 21 Dec 04

it is a great web site with a lot of instructions

Gran 09:52 21 Dec 04

Also, there seem to be about four updates for this bios on the Asus site. Can they noramally be installed individually, or do they pre-req each other.

Gran.

Gran 09:53 21 Dec 04

Thanks. I will have a dig around the website as you suggest.

Gran 11:57 21 Dec 04