BIOS problem

bdouglasglamis 21:44 30 Sep 08

I think the driver(s) for the CD-Rom are missing. I formatted both hard drives before re-installing XP (I wanted RAID 1 back) but the CD-Rom is not installed according to the BIOS. Likewise USB.

I have tried every which way I can think of, but, not being an expert, I am stuck because the machine does not recognise the CD drive and therefore the disc. What do I do now?

baldydave 21:55 30 Sep 08

Have you changed the cables on the cd drives you need to set as master and slave,the same goes for the hard drives the one on the end of the cable is the master look for the clip on the end of the drives to set master/slave,check usb support is turned on in the bios,del or f2 to enter bios as pc starts,it will say on start screen which key to press.
If this fails look for the cmos jumper on the motherboard and with power off pull clip off pin 1-2 and place on 2-3 for a few seconds then place back on pins 1-2 start pc and go into bios to see if it is sorted.

baldydave 21:57 30 Sep 08

forgot to say once in the bios look for boot sequence and make sure cdrom is first and hdd/ide is second

bdouglasglamis 23:00 02 Oct 08

I've not changed any cables and don't know what would be master and slave drives, sorry, and can't see where the CMOS Jumper is. As far as I can tell the BIOS says in the section 'Integrated Devices (LegacySelect Options)' it says 'USB Emulation - On' and 'USB Controller - On'.

After unplugging the drive cables and replacing them on the drives and on the motherboard and switching on I now get this message on startup:

Alert! OS Install Mode enabled. Amount of available memory limited to 256MB. Strike F1 to continue, F2 to run the setup utility.

gary2112 01:56 03 Oct 08