Bios & NVIDIA query

Bruja 18:03 PM 26 May 11

Hello....My name is Trish and I have been advised via Microsoft that my Laptop needs a Bios update and an updated NVIDIA display driver! I have a Toshiba laptop and have been on to their site, but apparently my laptop doesn't exist anymore! Anyone know how I go about resolving this problem? Would it be best to take it to a PC engineer? I am a complete amateur at this sort of thing. Thanking you all in advance.

Bruja 18:52 PM 26 May 11

Thanks for the speedy reply. Its a Toshiba Notebook with Windows Vista Eqium A100-027 and the Model No. is PSAAQE-007008 AV. The advice came as "Error Message on Screen". It has been so very slow for a while now, it takes at least 15 minutes to open. If you need further info please ask. Thankyou again.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 19:28 PM 26 May 11

I have never ever know Microsoft to advise a BIOS upgrade

I would suspect that you have some rouge Antimalware slowing you down and giving the error message.

What antivirus and Antimalware are you running? Scan with MAlwarebtes free click here to downloadto start with and see what it finds.

Bruja 18:22 PM 27 May 11

Sorry I havent replied sooner, but I downloaded MAlwarebtes and it threw up 10 infections. I don't know what to do with this information. I have the free version of AVG and windows own one. I also looked into the Device Drivers and it up with..."Mobile Intel (R)945 Express Chipset Family. I took a photo of the list of Infections in case you needed to see it, but I dont know what else I can do now to help you. Thanks.

Bruja 19:14 PM 27 May 11

I have now removed all 10 infections and have had confirmation of this. I have disabled Windows antivirus, so now only have AVG. The Intels link you sent to me, is this to update the Bios or NVIDIA? What am I looking for now?

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 19:33 PM 27 May 11

You do not need to update the BIOS or the Nvidia Drivers