The best beginner's web design software?

jezzabevan 16:26 10 Jul 05

I want to design a web site for my garden design business. What would be the best, fairly simple software package for this? I already have a copy of MS Frontpage 2003, is this any good or would I be better off buying say NetObjects Fusion 8, Coffee Cup or Serif Web Plus 9 for example. Don't think I need or want anything too complicated but software must be flexible and easy enough to use. Any recommendations anyone?

Forum Editor 16:33 10 Jul 05

is a superb design application, and is used by many professional designers - myself included. It's a powerful program, especially where data-driven sites are concerned, and every bit as capable as, say, Macromedia DreamWeaver. THe big advantage with FrontPage is that it has a fairly gentle learnig curve, and even a complete beginner can soon turn out a pretty respectable site.

NOF 8.0 is also an excellent program, and I use it regularly. It's the kind of program that keeps pace with you as your expertise increases, and some people never use anything else.

doctor-webby 12:05 13 Jul 05

I run my own small business web design company and all I use is Frontpage, its versatile and very easy to update and to be honest if a client wants to update their site frequently there really is no better program, it is however limited compared to dreamweaver but the pros out do the cons

I would stay using FP as it will do everything you want it to, if you need am e commerce function then go to the add in center and use the 123 paypal set-up which again is very easy to impliment and if you need any form of script then just type what you want into google and you will find it