Belkin Wireless Router Problems - Please Help :(

MattEllis 01:24 18 Dec 05

kay, I'm a complete newb and have never set up a network or anything so please excuse my ignorance.

I'm not quite sure how to explain this in detail, but the problem i'm having is this; I've just yesterday set-up my Wireless DSL broadband router, It says i have an 'Excellent' connection [The signal strength fluctuates between very-good and excellent], and occasionally after disconnecting the usb wireless adapter and reconnecting it again i'm temporarily able to connect to the internet, i'm temporarily able to browse internet web pages, but it's constantly disconnecting the second i try and download files or sign into any messenger. I completely lose the signal.

Could someone please help me with this? it's getting so annoying.

Is it my layout? [below]

Internet - NTL DSL cabel modem - [Wireless Router] - Downstairs Computer - [Wireless USB adapter - My Computer.

The internet downstairs works fine.

My operating system is Windows XP
Belkin | High-speed Mode Wireless G router
Belkin | High-speed Mode Wireless G USB network adapter

-------------------------------------------------

When it isn't working the IP config reads;

An internet error occurred: A device attached to the system is not functioning.

When it's connected it reads;

Windows IP configuration

Host name: your-kcdyg0bb1c
Primary Dns suffix:
Node Type: Mixed
IP routing Enabled: No
WINS proxy Enabled: No

Ethernet adapter local area connection:

Media state: Media disconnected
Description: NVIDIA nForce MCP networking control
Ler
Physical Address: 00-04-4B-80-80-03

Ethernet adapter wireless connection 4:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
Description: Belkin High-speed mode wireless g USB network adapter
Physical address: 00-11-50-7E-87-03
Dhcp enabled: Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes
Autoconfiguration IP address: 169.254.93.196
Default gateway:

--------------------------------------------