Belkin Modem/Router Help

paul654 00:47 22 Jul 06

I've just bought and set up a Belkin 54g Modem Router. Its my first attempt at a wireless network. I'm using my desktop as a wired (networked) PC and my daughters laptop as the wireless component. Everything has worked fine all day, that is until I switched the power off to the PC and Router. When I turned them both back on the Modem/router powers up fine but my internet is not connecting...I have to type the URL 192.168.2.1 and go into the router/modem settings and physically connect to the internet. I have to do this every time I turn the power off/on. Any ideas why?...is there a way of configuring it so it connects automatically when the modem/router is powered up?...am I missing something?
Thanks

FelixTCat 05:43 22 Jul 06

paul,

You don't say which type of Belkin modem router you have, but most are functionally similar.

In your router setup pages there is one page relating to WAN setup (ie connection to the internet). It is the page where you enter your username and password to connect to your ISP. On that page there are normally 2 entries such as Dial On Demand and Idle Time.

If you tick Dial On Demand the modem will connect every time someone tries to access the internet. Sometimes the alternative is auto start (ie the modem logs on when you switch it on) and sometimes manual start (ie YOU have to start it each time). Yours sounds like the latter, so whichever setting you have now, try changing it.

The Idle Time setting adjusts how long it will be with no internet activity before the modem automatically logs off. This was very common in the days of dial-up internet and there are still some pay-as-you-go broadband suppliers who charge by the minute as an option. Either set this number as high as you can (it is in usually in seconds, so 3600 represents one hour but yours may be different) or set it to 0, which normally means no time-out at all.