belkin modem router problem

melbaz 16:29 21 Dec 08

I am a complete novice so any replies need to be in non tech jargon...

I currently have BTBroadband and connect using BT Voyager 105 Modem, I have bought a laptop and wanted to install a wireless modem so have bought a Belkin Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router.

I have followed the set up instructions and the set up goes right to the end and states is is completed but I am unable to get a connection for the internet.

Also when I use the modem troubleshooter the modem which has just been installed cannot be found.

Any ideas on what I need to do

Thanks

ambra4 17:39 21 Dec 08

OK you had a Voyager 105 USB Modem, which worked fine

You removed the USB modem and installed the Belkin Wireless ADSL2+ Modem Router

And connected a RJ45 Ethernet cable from Port 1 on the Router to the LAN socket on your Computer

It is strongly recommended by All router suppliers that you use a physically connected cable

to the Router via a Ethernet RJ45 cable for router setup.

Using a wireless connected computer for setup is Not recommended to access router setup at any time.

Have you setup the Lan card on the computer?

If any firewalls are installed on any of the PCs, uninstall them.

This includes Zone Alarm, Sygate, Kerio, Norton Internet Security, Zero Knowledge Freedom, Cisco VPN

Client, F-Secure, McAfee Firewall, Trend Micro, Comodo, PC Tools Firewall Plus etc.

In many cases, disabling the firewall is not enough; you have to actually uninstall it.

Do not install or re-install the firewall until after you have the network functioning properly.

Web Browser Settings

Internet Explorer 4.0 or Higher

Start IE web browser. Select-Tools-Internet Options-Connection Tab

In the “Connection” screen, there are three selections:

“Never dial a connection”,

“Dial whenever a network connection is not present”

“Always dial my default connection”.

If you can make a selection, select “Never dial a connection”.