Belkin F5D7230-4 Help

pizat 19:59 24 Nov 07

hello i am new to networking i have had a belkin F5D7230-4 for some time now and i can not get it working i have rung virgin media and belkin and i got as far as typing cmd in run then ipconfig in command prompt then my credit went as its a pound per min i cannot afford to keep ringing i am on windows xp and i have a virgin media surfboard SB5101E i have followed the installation cd and i get as far as the lights coming on thje router which only the number 1 and the power lights up can anyone please help me
thanks in advance

ambra4 21:29 24 Nov 07

I take it that you have connected the Ethernet cable from the modem to the wan port on the router and a second cable from port 1 on the router to the LAN port on your computer

And you have set up your computer to access your ISP and the Internet

Go the this posting and read on how to set up your computer

click here

Forget about loading the CD

Open your browser and type in the address box the following

h?ttp.//192.168.2.1 remove the ? From the address

You will see the Router’s home page in your browser window.

The home page is visible to any user who wants to see it.

To make any changes to the Router’s settings, you have to log in.

Clicking the “Login” button will take you to the login screen.

The Router is ships with no password entered.

In the login screen, leave the password blank and click the “Submit” button to log in.

You how have to set up the router to access your ISP

Go this posting and take a read on how to set up router

click here

pizat 21:45 24 Nov 07

sorry i am not good with these things i connect to the internet via blue usb into my surfboard but when that is not connected it does not show anything in network connection and i cannot get onto the internet i will try what you said when i get in a bit later thanks i will reply back

pizat 00:19 25 Nov 07