Beginner needs help

splinternet 12:27 11 Mar 06

Although I've used the internet for many years, I'm finally taking what to me looks like a big leap into the unknown and creating my own web site. I've bought a domain name, and a book (Haynes) on building a website, but flicking through it, it doesn't seem to cover how I actually get my web site onto the internet (e.g. will the place where I bought the domain name automatically be my hoster? If not, do I simply choose a hoster and tell him the domain name? what do I need to look for in a hoster? would my current ISP (BT b/band) be my hoster? etc... ) (told you I was a beginner at this!). Also, I want to include useful links to other websites where goods could be bought, do I need their permission first, and would I get some sort of intoduction commission? I'm perfectly happy to gen up myself on all of this, but where do I look?

mco 13:59 11 Mar 06

Where did you get your domain name from? You can buy them from some hosting companies which will also host your site, but if you bought it separately, not a problem, just find a webhost and then use that name. There are lots of recommended ones if you do a search here. I know hearthinternet is a favourite here; I use webmania who are cheap and give good customer support. YOu can get free webspace from internet providers but I don't think bt broadband (at least not the basic package I have) do that. Plus, you wouldn't be able to use your dot com name with their free hosting. My advice: have a look at your book - get some free webbuilding programs (do a search on this forum for the better ones) - make a start on your site and then think about the best people to host it. If you've got the domain name you specifically wanted, that's safe for the meantime.

mco 14:00 11 Mar 06

that's click here
and also:click here

spuds 21:27 12 Mar 06