banding on monitor

mark-226634 22:10 02 Jul 06

I have a problem that is displayed on the monitor. I have several vertical bands like "bar codes" that are displayed. Sometimes half the right hand side of the screen is "chequered".
When the computer boots up on the XP screen there is a are several rows of white squares all over the place and the screen is distorted.

I have tried a diffrerent monitor and the same things happen. I have a Dell Dimension 8300 series that is 3 years old. My drivers are up to date.The graphics card is a ATI RADEON 9800 SERIES 128k (whatever that means)

I'm not an expert with PC's so does anybody know what I can do? Are there any online fixes available or some kind of remote help?

LastChip 22:37 02 Jul 06

I've only come across this once before and it was a mismatch between the monitors resolution settings and the desktop settings applied in Windows.

Take a look at the monitors manual and find out what settings it is capable of. For example 1024x768 is a common setting. Now right click your desktop and select Properties; Settings and check what it is set to. Make sure it's a setting that the monitor will support.

Djohn 02:37 03 Jul 06

The Dell 8300 series is the make/model of your computer, [Tower unit]. Do you know the model of your monitor and the second one you tried?

As Lastchip says it may be a setting on your graphic card not matching the monitor. Is the monitor a CRT type or TFT [Flat panel]. and what is the screen size please.

If a TFT and 17" or 19" then make sure your resolution is set to 1280 X 1024 with a refresh rate of 60 Hz. Follow the instruction from Lastchip to check both.

mark-226634 19:46 06 Jul 06

Someone has changed the graphics card for me and that has made the difference.