Backup Advice Requested By A Novice

dublincity 19:56 09 Mar 03

I am new to computers. My PC is a Pentium(r).My OS is Windows 95.

I've attempted to do a complete backup, including registry files. My onscreen directions tell me that 8 floppies will be needed but 'Windows 95 for Dummies' tells me that 'hundreds' of floppies will be needed unless a tape backup is used. I spotted that after I had selected Drive A (the 3.5 in. Drive), the hound switched to Drive D, which I'd believed was dormant. I made a good start but aborted after watching a 'Preparing For Backup' box for 1 1/2 hours. It seems that I was premature since the exercise was proceeding but with only one file (out of 000's) having been backed-up. If it's going to be a round-the-clock tango then I wonder if I should enable the screen saver? My ex-wife has lent me a brand new CD-R/RW kit. I have only a vague idea about what that is. I had expected to be able to plug something in and 'backup' very quickly. I now know differently! I have since done a bit of research and read the items on this Help Site listed under 'Backup'.

Should I resume my attempt to back-up on floppies and if so, how long will it take and who is right about the number of floppies needed? Any advice will be gratefully received. Many Thanks. Mike.

Stuartli 20:01 09 Mar 03

Backing up to floppies is both cumbersome and not very reliable longevity wise. Each floppy can only hold 1.4MB, a little more if compressed, but still a seriously long and tedious job.

I don't know how Win 95 will cope with a rewriter - might be worth upgrading to 98SE if you can obtain it.

Perhaps you could elaborate a little more on your system and its components etc?

dublincity 21:25 09 Mar 03

Thanks Stuartli for your comments.