Backing up C: drive to dvd

hiwatt 12:50 24 Mar 09

Morning folks.Just a quick question regarding acronis.Is it possible to back up an image of just my C:drive(There's 42GB of 80GB free)to a SINGLE dvd?

gazzaho 13:32 24 Mar 09

To be honest I doubt it, I just made a backup of my notebook with a fresh installation of Windows MC edition, fully updated and with a few programs I use installed, the used space is 16.9 GB and I used 3 DVD disks on full compression with Acronis.

You might be able to reduce the size of the backup a little by defragmenting the drive and switching off system restore before the backup but I can't see it helping much.

I'm pretty new to Acronis so I may be wrong, there may be a way I'm unaware of to do what you want, if I am then someone is bound to correct me.

ACOLYTE 13:36 24 Mar 09

With dvd9 i think the most you can get is around 9/10GB to 1 dvd,so afaik you cannot get 42Gb on one dvd.

DieSse 13:42 24 Mar 09

No, you'll never get this amount of compression.

But - it can do it to several DVDs, so the only real issue is cost.

In the long run it pays to get an external drive, and image to that.

hiwatt 13:46 24 Mar 09

I didn't thik so but just I'd ask incase there was a way.What I'm a bit unsure of is how you can take a single "snapshot" of your drive but spread it out and then restore that single image from several dvd's?P.s the external drive is at the top of my "To get list" Funds are tight just now.Thanks folks.

gazzaho 14:01 24 Mar 09

The Acronis program splits the backup into smaller files, 4GB with FAT 32 file systems. I have a full C: backup of my desktop PC which, at the moment is 167GB saved to an external drive as 98.6GB split over 25 4GB files. As a comparison, if saving to DVD I would need perhaps 26 DVD disks as each one only stores 4GB or so of data.

hiwatt 14:34 24 Mar 09