Enoch 06:44 16 Jul 04

Help...I want to find the integral "Back-up programme" from within XP home user. It should be within System Tools, but in my case it is not. I understand that I can load it from the CD's supplied with my PC originally (I have a laptop) but I do not know from which CD I should load it and I do not want to experiment with the CD's I have in case of problems from mistakes I might make. Whoever has the answer, please be so kind as to advise me, but in simple language as I am a user not a technician.

howard60 06:48 16 Jul 04

enter backup in the search box on the left and you will find what you are looking for.

Enoch 07:27 16 Jul 04

I took your advice and found 83 items listed in the search programme-----which one is for me?

GroupFC 08:49 16 Jul 04

It’s in the “\VALUEADD\MSFT\NTBACKUP” folder on the setup CD, (assuming you have the full XP CD and not just a recovery CD!). All you have to do is click on NTBACKUP.MSI

Alternatively, you can get from click here

€dstowe 08:55 16 Jul 04

May I suggest that you look at an independent backup program to use rather than the integral Windows version.

Suggested ones include DriveImage, Acronis True Image and Norton Ghost. None of these are expensive to buy and Acronis has a free version. Each could save you a lot of heartache and trouble if the worst happens (and it does, more often thatn you could hope). Easiest to use is probably Acronis.

keenan 09:12 16 Jul 04

Having used 'Ghost' for some time and 'Acronis'
agree with €dstowe that Acronis is certainly the easier and quicker one to use.

For free trial version click here

Enoch 15:11 16 Jul 04