AVG / Outlook Set-up HELP!

Can't get email!!

I am an Windows XP Professional (5.1) with Outlook (OEM) 2002 (10.2627.2625) user and cannot get me OUTLOOK email to work.
Recently purchased a new computer - and a new version of AVG 7.0. Previously used Norton for anti-virus protection with no problems.

I have copied all of the settings across (POP3 / SMTP etc.) and ALSO have found the help screen in AVG program that tells me about setting up a 'new server, including: Server Port (5200) and POP3 (127.0.0.1) - I have changed these, but still have a problem when I test the settings from Outlook:

"Unable to connect to the incoming mailserver (POP3)..."

AVG's instructions for Outlook 2002 do not seem to be very clear - do not follow the ACCOUNT screens that I see in this version of OUTLOOK (2002).

When I use the AVG set-up WIZARD it only gives me options for OUTLOOK EXPRESS and despite following the subsequent process and instructions - it doesn't want to change!

Does anyone have AVG / NTL / OUTLOOK 2002 (or nearest) running ok - what are your account settings (not your password - obviously!)?

------------------------

Can anyone help further? I am without email on my PC at the moment - still waiting response from AVG themselves.. and my hair is thinning..

bamfiesler 08:56 04 May 04

Hold on, see if I can help/////////

joseph k. 09:04 04 May 04

I know that this may seem a little too obvious to be of help, but I have overlooked the obious on a few occasions. As you say this is a new setup, I can't help wondering if your ISP email service is currently undergoing some difficulty. I have missed this myself in the past. AVG 6 (the freebie runs brilliantly with my XP pro, and had done for months). This probably seems idiotic, but have you been to your ISPs home page and checked to see if their services are currently working.

bamfiesler 09:05 04 May 04