AVG can't remove virus!!!!!

notrom 16:29 11 Aug 03

As recommended by many of you, I have recently started using AVG free virus protection. On doing latest complete virus check, a virus was found, with the following message ‘Infested Object: C:\_RESTORE\TEMP\A0076427.CPY. Virus name: Trojan Horse BackDoor.Jeemp The Virus cannot be removed from the infected object by healing. The entire infected object must be removed. Click the ‘Move to Virus Vault’ button to safely remove the object.’ I then got the following message: ‘File C:\_RESTORE\TEMP\A0076427.CPY cannot be removed.
Am in a panic, don’t know what to do! Any suggestions???? - I'm not very technical

spikeychris 16:36 11 Aug 03

No need to panic, just click here and follow the instuctions.

Jester2K II 16:40 11 Aug 03

No the virus is stuck in System Restore folder. Windows protects this folder.

Turn System Restore off, reboot, turn System Restore on again. Rescan with AVG.

Jester2K II 16:40 11 Aug 03

By the way the virus can't get your from the System Restore folder.

notrom 17:57 11 Aug 03

Jester, have followed your advice (I think/hope!)and now the scan is reporting no virus - where did it go?!?! Is that right? Should I do anything more about anything?
SpikeyChris - can a Symantec info/help page have any relevance?

Thanking you both for your prompt responses, hope to green tick v soon!

Terrahawk 18:01 11 Aug 03

if the virus was in system restore by turning it off you deleted the restore points thus deleting the virus now you have turned it back on it should create a new clean restore point

spikeychris 18:50 11 Aug 03

notrom, irrespective of whether you use Norton, AVG, PCcillin or any other AV, the virus/worm, if it gets through will do the same damage. The link I sent you describes how to delete the reg keys it creates.

Jester2K II 07:24 12 Aug 03