Automatic Updates

blackbob 07:56 04 Sep 03

Please help every time I go online Windows update downloads security update 819696.I've now successfully installed it eight times until I realised it was the same update. How do I stop it downloading? or how do I know it is installed?

-pops- 08:16 04 Sep 03

To check it is present and correct look in Add/Remove Programs (from Control Panel).

To stop it downloading in future, turn off Automatic Update. You must remember to check periodically for updates either on the M$ site or look on here. If you do manual updates you will have the choice of what to download.

blackbob 09:26 04 Sep 03

Thank's -pops-
I've looked in Add/Remove Programs it's not there,but when I check Updates installation history it's successfully installed several times. Where do I go from here?Keep on installing? or forget about it? I'm quite concerned as it's a "Critical Update" and I'm still new to computing.

moore_mat 09:37 04 Sep 03

Hi

This may sound like a stupid question, but have you shut your computer down?

I only ask, because some of these updates don't register until you do a full restart. Putting your computer into standby or hibernation doesn't do the same thing..

Regards

Mat

moore_mat 09:39 04 Sep 03

Also, if that isn't it, you could try installing it manually by following the download instructions on this page:-
click here

Regards

Mat

-pops- 09:41 04 Sep 03

This is something to do with DirectX. To read more about it click here

Might give you a clue as to how important it is and whether you can ignore it.

Andsome 10:01 04 Sep 03

If you use XP, you can configure NOT to receive automatic downloads, but instead to be advised that downloads are available.

the lone cloner 16:00 04 Sep 03

go to click here you will find the fix there.

blackbob 16:57 04 Sep 03

Many thanks for the links.
Tried moore_mat & -pops- links "page cannot be displayed"