AOL Upgrade & Internet problem.

Sky Gazer. 04:13 06 Oct 03

I have windows XP and running AOL version 6 software. A while ago my Computer would not connect to the Internet and it seemed to be related to Norton AntiVirus saying it had discovered a malicious script. This I assume was dealt with as I clicked on Norton to stop it from "running". However I was only able to access internet on AOL 6 with another AOL icon and not the original I had been using on my desk top. Which is still the situation now so I wondered if the malicious script had affected AOL 6.

Anyway I installed AOL 8 a few days ago with no problems but when it came to setting my connection for it to find my Modem - I had problems and a message came up saying my computer was being shut down so it doesn't get damaged - my computer then shut down and I had to reboot and the same problem keeps happening so I cant access the internet with AOL 8.

Can anyone help? I am a novice at this sort of thing! Thanks...

goonerbill 09:05 06 Oct 03

am running AOL8 on winXP with nortons systemworks and all is ok.

only thing i can think off is the NAV is effecting the install. turn off NAV and remove all installations of AOL, REBOOT and check that NAV is still off and then re-install AOL8.

good luck

graham√ 09:19 06 Oct 03

Go to Start, Search, All files and folders, 'Global.Org', delete all those. This is where AOL sticks old stuff. Don't worry, you don't need them.

JIM 10:51 06 Oct 03

my post is in no way conflicting with suggestions from goonerbill and graham, just an extension on my thinking :)

I take it your system is running a.ok, bar the problems with Aol? and you have enough memory and hardrive space avaiable?

i would suggest that you start from a clear playing field and decide what version of AOL you want to run.If your AOL 6.0 software is not version 4111.50 then it will not be 100%compatible with WIN XP and you still may have problems.