AOL router connection using 3Com Officeconnect

lomar4976 22:58 15 Jan 07

Hiya folks.

Im trying to set up a router connection for a friend on his AOL account which I have no experience of the inner workings.

I've followed the various guides ive seen listed, i.e. seeting PPoE and VCP/VCI 0,38 and creating a new 18+ screen name in lower case with no spaces, and a new alphanumeric, lower case password which is 6 digits long (lower than the noted 8 maximum)

Now.. I put all the information into the router setup (its a 3com Officeconnect 3crwdr100a-72) and it syncs to the ADSL line fine, but the connection doesnt move from 'disconnected' on the router details and the online light does not appear to light up on the router itself.

(note for the record, the router has been flashed with the latest version, oct 2006 I think)

I have read elsewhere (which I didnt have the chance to try yet) that the connection doesnt appear to connect until you actually attempt to connect via the AOL software log in prompt, once its set up so it uses the TCP/IP protocol under their 'broadband' option - I can give that a go a little later if this sounds like the cause of the light not appearing on.

However the second question i've got as a result of that, is how do you set up an xbox to access the internet connection via the wireless or wired ethernet on this router/modem if it cannot detect the internet signal until you physically attempt to connect with AOL (as I do not have an xbox myself, its another 'working in the dark' moment as I try to figure the details out from past experience in general PC networking)

Thanks in advance for any help you can be.

Ashrich 12:11 16 Jan 07

click here and read the last message CAREFULLY , it should help you .

Ashley

lomar4976 23:06 16 Jan 07

Hiya, thanks for the reply, but ive followed all of those tips (except for the last part as mentioned above, ill be trying that tomorrow - i.e. setting up the aol software to connect over tcp/ip)