AOL and firewalls

chub_tor 16:43 12 Oct 04

I tried to search this site because I am sure that this topic must have been covered before, but I couldn't get the search box to work.

A pal of mine who has a dial-up modem and subscribes to AOL and has a Dell machine with XP, was talking to me about Firewalls. He didn't know if his XP firewall was turned on. When I tried to look at Properties on his internet connection icon absolutely nothing happened. The connection also said that it was disconnected even though he could access AOL by clicking on the desktop AOl icon.

I have no experience of AOL so can someone advise me what's going on?

Thanks

chub_tor 17:00 12 Oct 04

Just realised I used the Search box on the top right of this page and not the one for Search the Archives on the left. I now have 500 pages to look at for AOL but so far have not seen one concerning the problem with checking the XP firewall status via Properties.

CHAIRLEG 22:50 12 Oct 04

Windows with sp2 loaded. Go to control panel double click firewall icon.

chub_tor 15:35 13 Oct 04

Chairleg, unfortunately he only has SP1 and I have yet to convince him that he should install SP2. The problem is still there to be resolved.

NickyK 15:53 13 Oct 04