Anyone Experienced In Databases?

Daz35 23:43 04 May 04

I have been compiling and writing quiz questions for about 12 years and up until about 3 years ago was still writing them by hand. The last few years I have been using word to save them all, but now would like to compile a large database with them all in. I have Access on my PC, which I confess I've never used and having looked into it, looks rather complicated. Any suggestions would be welcome. (XP Pro/Home 512 ram P4 2.6G)

johnnyrocker 23:46 04 May 04

if you have a cd writer you could transfer all the data to a cd in multisession form and add to as and when required, hope this helps.

johnny.

Daz35 23:53 04 May 04

I was really looking for something that had the facility to print off random questions from the database and that could catergorise the questions and answers.And also I have an extremely large file (physical) full of questions that need to be typed into something.It's a few years work, but I need to start soon! Thanks for your interest.

johnnyrocker 23:58 04 May 04

sorry i misunderstood the depth of your query, can i take it tat you do not wish to put it all on some form of removeable device

johnny.

Daz35 00:05 05 May 04

No, the thousands of questions I have are already backed up on 2 external drives. I just want to make them more accessable. (I already run quiz leagues and send out questions, but this is all done in Word format and each quiz is written individually by me. I'm looking for a way to 'streamline' my business somewhat! (So this will save me hours of researching the same questions ansd answers - once they're on some kind of database)

Dragon Heart 00:23 05 May 04

You may find something you can use in the Templates area !

The most important thing to do prior to starting your database is the categories you place both the questions and answers in. Some may have multiple categories like "What is the chemical symbol for lead ?" eg Metal, Chemical, Science etc.