Any ADSL experts out there?

pickle factory 20:07 07 Jul 04

I'm currently trying to set up my ADSL connection with Plusnet. I have installed a Conexant MRi PCI modem running with ME and can't get synchronisation on my ADSL line. I initially cocked the whole thing up and set up my modem in LAN mode and then didn't see any of the options I needed to enter the information I was given by Plusnet when notified of my ADSL line becoming active. However, although I set it up wrong, I still had synchronisation on the line but didn't get as far as getting email or internet working. I have since reinstalled using WAN mode and now have all the options I need to enter the required info but now there is no connection sync #####! The only bit of info I can't enter is the authentication setting CHAPS, I can't find anywhere to enter it. Anyone any ideas please. I'm not getting much joy from Plusnet as yet.

rickf 20:29 07 Jul 04

I am no expert but why not give plusnet a call. I have found their customer service pretty good. Tell the guy/girl you are a newbie and they will walk you thru' it.

TommyRed 20:40 07 Jul 04

I'm with PlusNet and their technical dept have always been helpful on the rare ocasion I've used them. I think it was when I set up come to think of it. TR

rickf 20:49 07 Jul 04

Same here that's why I suggested he rang them.

Chegs ® 22:27 07 Jul 04

Try the Conexant PCI drivers from "The Mad House" These were very simple to install,windows asked for the drivers,I directed windows to the folder where I had unzipped them,and all I needed to cfg were "Username/Password" and the VCI/VPI numbers were correct.Apart from problems created by conflicts with Nero's InCD,I used a PCI modem for 18mths prior to purchasing a router/modem to get my linux PC online,as installing the modem into linux was proving beyond my comprehension of linux. ;-)

pickle factory 06:19 08 Jul 04

I'll give it a go, thanks for the advice.

pickle factory 13:48 09 Jul 04