Another Wireless problem

ginjavision 18:04 12 Aug 06

I'm new to this wireless networking malarky, but judging from all I've read so far I'm not the only one with problems!

I've been groping my way though installing a lan wireless connection between a desktop and a laptop using ad-hoc connection. I've managed to install the connection, and both computers come up with a wireless network connected message .. but that is it.

When I go to My Network places on the desktop it only shows itself as the host. The laptop shows both itself as client and the desktop as host, but when I click on the host it tells me that host won't allow access. This means I can't get to printer/files or access the internet.

I've had had eachcomputer ping the other, all fine, I'e followed the advice on the forum page "Problem setting up file sharing", as far as it goes but now I need the next stage ...

I'e tried all the help pages I can find and reinstalled and checked differnt boxes but to no avail. Everything looks fine on screen but something is not right - how can I be able to connect and yet not access anything - is it because I am stupid or that what I am trying to do is impossible?

FelixTCat 18:21 12 Aug 06

ginjavision,

To be able to share files over the network you have to do 2 things:

1. enable file and printer sharing on both pcs

2. set at least one drive or folder for sharing

To set file and printer sharing, double-click on the network icon and select Properties. Click the box for sharing. Click OK

To share a drive or folder, open My Computer, go to the drive or folder you want to share, right-click on it and click Sharing and Security. Don't share the whole of your system drive.

You share a printer in a similar way.

Note that you do not have to set up any file sharing in order to access the internet.

Regards,

Felix

ginjavision 18:43 12 Aug 06

My settings are already set to share everything ... and I can't share the internet access either...