//some 3rd party need geo

Analogue video editing

lightfeet 07:57 15 Nov 03

I want to try my hand at ANALOGUE video editing & before going the whole hog investing in Pinnacle Moviebox DV I thought I’d try my hand at something simpler & cheaper. (I have Win XP on AMD Athlone 1900+ processor with Firewire & USB 1 connections) I presume the easiest way is to buy an analogue capture card to connect to the Firewire & use XP Windows Movie Maker for editing. Any advise on what capture card to get that will produce good quality output would be appreciated also comments from users of Windows Movie Maker.

MichelleC 09:59 15 Nov 03

It all depends on quality, what media you're capturing from. how much hassle you can cope with, and how much you want to edit. If you invest in AIW or Canopus your audio and video is less likely to go out of sync and the quality will be better than the less expensive cards. Are you capturing from an analogue camcord or video?

I've no experience with WMM (and some folk are very happy with it) but a prog like Sony's Screenblast Movie Studio click here will have you hooked in no time.

Bagsey 11:00 15 Nov 03

WMM is avery basic video editing tool with not very many twiddly bits however if you upgrade to the WMM2 version then that situation is improved. It is however a good starting point if you dont want to invest cash until you are sure what you want.
Why dont you checkout this forum click here where you will get some expert advice. Note! the forum changed very recently so to view back threads you will need to follow the links to the old archived threads. There is one giving a good write up on WMM2.

lightfeet 07:07 16 Nov 03

Thanks for responses.
MichelleC - I shall be editing from both Hi8 & a considerable number of VHS tapes.
Bagsey - I have upgraded to WMM2 version but it appears that not many Forum members user WMM as no-one else has responeded to this part of the thread

tenplus1 10:05 16 Nov 03