AMD CPU temperature

Newuser1758 21:01 01 Oct 04

As a complete beginner I have constructed my own computer using Gigabyte motherboard with an AMD xp 2600+ PSU. The operating system is Windows XP Home. My objective is to obtain a computer running as silently as possible. Everything appears to be OK, but I am concerned about the temperature of the system and processor which is currently running at 63C the case ar 38C and sensor at 30C. My question is: Is it safe to continue at these temperatures.

james3 21:09 01 Oct 04

My AthlonXP 3200+ runs at a maximum of 44 degrees under full load, without any case fans. I'm not too sure what the maximum temperature is, I have a feeling that its 90 degrees so you should be alright.

Sion 21:15 01 Oct 04

hmm, i'd be concerned at those temps to be honest with you. above 55 is time to get concerned i believe. Few tips to help you first of.
1. check for updates for motheboard bios. i built some PC's a while ago for some friends, using an MSI motherboard, but the temperatures were stupidly high. Turned out that the bios was known to falsely report temperatures about 5-10 degrees hotter than it really was. So you may want to try that out first.

Secondly, what heatsink and fan are you using on that processor, and how many case fans do you have?

Newuser1758 22:48 01 Oct 04