am i being watched..

robin2dogs 19:40 24 Aug 03

..or just paranoid!(please see my post" WILFRED"earlier today.
I use XP Pro
AVG update+run daily
ZoneAlarm pro
These all seem to work fine,eg. I recieved email from Yahoo saying "unable to deliver your message" so trusting in my antivirus I opened the attachment(I did not recognize the address of recipient and in my naievity thought it might be a copy of the message).No it was a virus and AVG caught it straight away.Yahoo have not yet replied to me since thursday.

Meanwhile a certain WILFRED has attatched himself to and infront of my name as account administrator(WinXP).

WilF has also caused me to have to use our,now ,joint admin account to open IE.I tried creating a new administrator account,in the hope of being able to delete the other(Wilf/R) but "it" won't let me do,I try to open IE from new ac---cannot open, line:39 char:380 error:expected"j" code:0.

Also in "ipconfig /all" I see host name..wilfred

Sorry I'm only a novice so any help/advice would be mich appreciated.

Bodi 19:50 24 Aug 03

suspect that someone has access to your computer. If it were me, I would run a virus scan and if necessary, back up all my files and format and reinstall. But then maybe I'm paranoid too.

Hope someone can offer more help.

Bodi 19:55 24 Aug 03

that this is the post you were refering to?

click here

Did you follow FE's advice?

wee eddie 19:56 24 Aug 03

If AVG had been working you should have been notified that the e-mail contained a virus "XXXYYYY", and that you should not open it.

You should then have received a number of options as to how to deal with the file.

Heed Bodi's advice!

robin2dogs 19:58 24 Aug 03

I was already planning a full format but was mostly concerned that someone (doesn't feel like an ordinary virus)who can get into my internet protocol settings and muck about with them can probably do it again even if I buy a new PC unless I do that AND change my ISP and email accounts.

Jomi 20:05 24 Aug 03