All i want is a better wireless router!!

Currantbun 00:11 26 Jun 10

Hey Guys

At present i have a sky phone line and a sky 'netgear' wireless router. I get poor signal at the other end of the house and none in the garden. I recently purchased a new wireless router and after discussions with the technical departments of both parties i discovered that sky is a 'closed' system and i cannot used anyone else's router, even as a repeater. Surely this cannot be.

I have done a search for this problem, but i am not that technical. Ideally i want a new router and a repeater for the other end of the house.

Possibly the easiest solution would be those 'powerline' routers. Are they any good?

Many thanks.....

PS. I must be wireless and my computer is a Mac (don't hold it against me).

mgmcc 08:31 26 Jun 10

Although you have to use Sky's router to connect to their service, I cannot see any reason why you cannot plug either a "Cable/DSL Router" (which *DOESN'T* incorporate a modem) or a Wireless Access Point into one of the Sky router's LAN ports. If it can allocate addresses by DHCP to connected computers, then it can allocate them to a secondary router's WAN port or a Wireless Access Point.

Alternatively, as you've suggested, Powerline adapters might be a solution, at least as far as the "other end of the house" is concerned. Connect one by ethernet cable to the Sky router and use a WiFi Powerline adapter at the other end where wireless connectivity is required. The fact that you're using a Mac is immaterial.

Miké 22:51 28 Jun 10

I use the sky router with wireless turned off, connected to a draft-N spec cable router to give greater wireless range/speed.

As far as I can see this does not break any Sky T&Cs.

Chip1900 22:47 29 Jun 10

A few alternatives for you to try:-

1. Try repositioning the Netgear router to provide better wireless coverage. This will require trial and error.