Advice on Windows 98SE swap file please.

Valvegrid 16:44 03 Jun 04

I have been using this computer for a couple of months which is a HP Pavilion 7925 with 256MB memory and 1.2G AMD Athlon. nVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 (Leadtek WinFast A180 B) Video Adapter. The primary drive is 40GB partitioned, 10GB for Windows 98lite and programs (C), the remainder of the 30GB (D) is for my son. I have a 30GB (E) slave, which I use.

Now the question; I have moved the swap file to the 30GB (E) slave drive, as I had done on my previous computer because the swap file was usually 50 - 60MB in size and it made it easier defraging the C drive, but I notice that now the file always remains at zero, I've never seen this before, all the other computers I've used or worked on the SWP file is nearly always 50-120MB, depending on HD size. Can someone explain please?

It's not a problem, because the computer works like lightening, it's just to satisfy my curiosity.

johnsims 18:21 03 Jun 04

I assume that the swap file that is now showing a zero size is on the E: partition and that you are not looking at it on C:.

If I remember correctly I seem to recall something about Win98 not being real good at properly showing a moved swap file.

Wak 19:09 03 Jun 04

Is it possible that Windows has automatically set up another Swap file in the original C:\ drive.
Have a look in C:\ Windows for Win386.swp

Valvegrid 19:54 03 Jun 04

johnsims, yes, I have the original SWP file which is in C still which shows zero as well. I've never had a problem moving the SWP file before on 98, it's just this time it's showing zero.

Wak & johnsims, I have changed the SWP back into C drive anyway, just to make sure and it still shows zero.

Thanks for your replies, I'll leave the thread open for now and keep an eye on old SWP to see if it grows! Unless anyone else knows differently.

Wak 08:08 04 Jun 04

Hi, I assume that you have been to :-