Advice sought re AOL Broadband

James-299039 19:18 11 Dec 05

I am thinking of installing AOL Silver BB and have just been perusing PC Advisor threads on this subject which quite frankly concern me somewhat, as some people have clearly been having problems and have had little help from AOL.

I have had AOL dial-up (now on version 9) for five years and it has worked well most of the time. However, in recent months I have had intermittent connection problems and have been given various advice (often conflicting) by the AOL helpline. I now have to pay for the privilege of their 'help' but the quality is poor and the English used by the 'helpers' invariably difficult to understand.

I am not a gamer or someone who downloads music or video files. I merely want a connection to surf the Net so I am thinking of AOL Silver.

I am not very technically minded and would appreciate some advice by those with experience of AOL BB, particularly.

Is it difficult to install for someone like me?

My dial-up connection is plugged into an extension 'phone socket with a professionally-wired permanent connection between it and the main 'phone socket downstairs, no more than five metres away 'as the crow flies' or could fly if there were not wooden floor joists etc in the way. Would AOL BB work in the extension socket?

Some of the other posts suggest you have to be on AOL Gold to get any co-operation from AOL if things go wrong. Is this correct?

I will probably get a new computer if I do go Broadband. At least this will prevent the old AOL dial-up interfering. I want a new computer anyway.

phil46 19:41 11 Dec 05

If your going to use an AOL ADSL modem there is no problem in setting it up on silver or gold as long as you use the modem they send.
If on the other hand you require a router for a second computer that is a different matter and you will get no support on silver,the router i use is a SpeedTouch 546 via ethernet cable i couldn't be bothered with wireless set up but thats me.