Advice on a new computer

DIYgirl 19:13 04 Dec 05

Sorry this is so long--I've kept it as short as I can.

I am about to buy myself a new computer (at last! my current machine is over 8 years old) and could do with some advice.

I'm looking at a Dell Dimension 9150 (but am open to advice if anyone knows of a better option). I have up to £1,200 to spend but would prefer to spend around £1,000.

I'm a writer so mostly use my computer for word processing, Excell, emailing and internet searches (for research). I live off the grid so this will be a wind-powered computer (our electricity works just like mains power, but we like to use minimal amounts of power for when the wind isn't blowing). We are too remote for broadband so sadly I'm stuck with dial-up for now. I do have problems with typing now (arthritis and RSI) so will be using Dragon Naturally Speaking v8, which requires a minimum of a Pent III/500MHz processor, 256MB RAM, and a good sound card.

Where I'm getting confused is with the processor (I think!). The 9150 comes with these options:

3.0GHz, 800FSB, 2X1MB Cache
3.2GHz, 800FSB, 2X1MB Cache
3.6GHz, 800FSB, 2MB Cache
3.8GHz, 800FSB, 2MB Cache

Which one is best? It's the cache options which are confusing me. Option 2 is confusingly more expensive than option 3, although it has a slower speed. I realise I'm missing something major here but am having trouble finding out what!

Many thanks in advance for your advice. Please try not to laugh at me for asking a question which is probably laughingly obvious!

ade.h 19:33 04 Dec 05

The first two may well be dual-core Pentium Ds.

ade.h 19:35 04 Dec 05

And regarding your power situation, is there any chance of a drop in supply? If so, you absolutely must invest in a UPS (and a decent one too). I would suggest something like this click here

DIYgirl 19:40 04 Dec 05

ade.h, there's far less chance of a drop in supply with our system than with mains power!