Advice on external drive

tamsin 15:26 10 Jul 09

I am running a dual boot Vista SP1 and XP SP3 system on a 500Gb HDD (although it is nowhere near full) and have just purchased a 500Gb Seagate ST305004EXD101-RK external drive. However there is no software with it - instructions say just drag and drop.
If I only drag and drop can I restore my system from this if it should crash. Or, do I need to purchase something like Norton Ghost or maybe a different program?
I am completely new to usign external drives having previously only backed up data.
Would appreciate any advice.

Taff™ 15:33 10 Jul 09

You would need Norton Ghost or Acronis True Image. The latter is well recommended on this forum and the cheapest place to buy it is on Amazon. (PC World is far too expensive)click here

rawprawn 16:26 10 Jul 09

I use Acronis to backup my Laptop to my external drive. No problem at all and I would recommend it.

woodchip 16:36 10 Jul 09

As above Acronis, and you do not need any other software for it. Yes you can Create Images of your main drive and put them on the External for rescue purposes. using Acronis Software.

Inside Edge 00:58 11 Jul 09

I use Acronis TI and it just got me out of a nasty problem with the System Security 2009 Trojan (see my separate thread closed out today). Dead easy to restore an image made with this software that I stored on a 500Gb western Digital external drive.

gazzaho 03:59 11 Jul 09

Buying an external drive for normal use, copying files like .mp3 .avi or perhaps pictures is just a drag and drop process. The drive should be already formatted, most likely with the Fat32 file system.

If you bought it for backup purposes, then as the others have suggested you will need software like Acronis to do a full system backup which will restore your machine if the OS becomes corrupted.