Advice from a Electrician please,surge protectors

iqs 20:10 13 Feb 09

Hi,

I know how important a Surge Protector is,and why its required to protect against surges and spikes.

My current surge protector is an 8 gang,running seven devices and is connected directly into the wall socket.

I need to plug the protector into a 3-way adapter,each of the 3-way sockets has a power switch.

Will the protector still operative correctly,and is this a safe method please.

Thanks

Technotiger 20:18 13 Feb 09

I am not technically an electrician, but in my experience, of which I have quite a lot ...

It is better to have the Surge Protector plugged directly into the wall socket. The 3-way adapter should be plugged into one of the 8xgang sockets. As long as not all the items connected are in use at the same time, this would be safe. If all the items were in use at the same time, you might get over-load, especially if the mains wiring is very old.

iqs 20:24 13 Feb 09

Hi Technotiger,

OK if the way I want to connect the protector is not recommended,can I buy a standard 1x gang extension lead, to just extend the original lead so it will reach another wall socket.

Will the surge circuitry still operative.

Thanks for helping

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 20:37 13 Feb 09

"Can I plugg into an extension lead or adaptor"

Yes as long as everything plugged into that particular wall socket does NOT exceed 13A

"Will the surge circuitry still operative?"

Only on devices plugged into the 8 gang surge protector.

Spark6 20:41 13 Feb 09

I gather from your post that your surge protector is built into an 8 gang extension lead supplied by a 13amp plug with a maximum size fuse of 13 amps. This is probably the most common/popular setup.