Advice on buying a new desktop gaming PC.

minusthebear 23:47 10 Mar 08

Hello all. I have never used a forum like this before so I hope this is in the right section.

I've been looking to purchase a new desktop PC that is reliable and quiet but can play some (fairly) recent top end games. For example, I would love to finally play STALKER with some good graphics after a while of playing it on my Radeon X800 GT with terrible fps rates. Also, COD4, Crysis, NWN2 and so on.

I've been searching for PCs online (only require the tower because I've got a pretty nice monitor) and have been tempted to just give up trying to learn how to make my own one after failing to upgrade my PC properly in the past (overheating/crashing issues). However, I'm certain that there is a way I can get better specs for a cheaper price from somewhere other than Dell or whatever. I'm prepared to spend up to £600 but would prefer it to be a little cheaper.

Problem is, I would hate my PC to become outdated in the next couple of months or something, and whilst the gfx card the Dell offers for the Inspiron 531 (256MB ATI® Radeon™ HD 2600 XT) would suffice, reviews seem to suggest that there is a whole lot better I could get for probably the same price.

Could someone please recommend either:
- a brand of desktop I could purchase that would be great for this setup?
- a website that will create a PC for me with reasonable specs?

Thanks in advance!

crosstrainer 01:35 11 Mar 08

What is the present mobo in the old machine?

worth asking first to see if an uprade might be possible.

minusthebear 01:52 11 Mar 08

Thanks for the quick reply.

Currently my system (an Advent) is

3.40 gigahertz Intel Pentium 4
DIXONSXP MS-7091
Board: MICRO-STAR INTERNATIONAL CO., LTD MS-7091
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
2048 Megabytes Installed Memory
RADEON X800GT [Display adapter]
C-Media High Definition Audio Device

(I got this stuff from Belarc, as I had no idea what my mobo make was...)