advent laptop wireless connection

j.t 19:54 07 Oct 08

i am a computor novice can anyone give me a step by step guide to connect my laptop wirelessly.i have virgin broadband,advent 9117 computer and a buffalo wireless-g 125 router.

mgmcc 21:20 07 Oct 08

Assuming you have Virgin's *CABLE* service, you need to swap the connection to the Cable Modem from your computer to the Buffalo router and it is important to follow the correct procedure for this click here

Then you should connect a computer to the router by *ETHERNET* cable, not wirelessly, in order to configure it.

Once configured to connect to Virgin and for wireless access (generally default wireless settings should be OK to get started), you need to "Connect" to the wireless network. In other words, run the wireless adapter's software, scan for "Available Wireless Networks", find and highlight the one that matches your router's SSID (network name) and select the option to "Connect" to it. You should be prompted to enter any WEP or WPA encryption key and, once "Connected", the wireless adapter should get its IP address by DHCP from the router and you should have network and internet access.

There is a difference between the Wireless Network Adapter and Router communicating with a good signal and "Connecting" (as in "logging in") to your Wireless network.

j.t 08:49 08 Oct 08

many thanks for reply. have got onto buffalo set up page. shows me basic settings on left of page.i.e.internet,wirless,other,internet,with sub headings. on right shows following info...mode-router. wan-(dhcp auto aquiring).connecton cond -under comm. wirless-iee802.11g. encryption-off. is this right? have got a bit lost as to what to do next.i told i was a novice!

mgmcc 09:15 08 Oct 08

That seems to be basically OK. You do want it to acquire its WAN (Wide Area Network or "Internet") IP address automatically by DHCP.