Addition of left-handed mouse

henrymead 08:07 26 Nov 06

My son is left-handed and the rest of the family is right-handed. We would like to avoid having to change the mouse button settings every time my son wants to use the computer.
Please can you advise me if it is possible to have a second mouse attached to the computer box with the the buttons permanently set for a left-handed user. In this way we can have a mouse on the left of the keyboard for my son and another mouse on the right of the keyboard for the rest of the family. What attachments/fittings will we need to buy and from where? We already have a 'Y-mouse' Dual Mouse Port Adapter.
Thank you for reading this message.

€dstowe 08:37 26 Nov 06

I am left handed but I successfully use a mouse in the normal right handed manner.

This is a help to me because, being a graphic artist, I then use a Wacom graphics pad and stylus in my left hand.

Now, several models of Wacom pads come with their own mouse which you can set up independently of the conventional one. You can also use the stylus in a similar way to a mouse as well.

If you want to pursue this, I would strongly suggest the Wacom brand as other, cheap makes do not have the same facilities.

This is the sort of thing I mean click here

Not the cheapest but it will do what you want and give you a superb drawing tool as well.

VoG II 08:40 26 Nov 06

It is indeed possible to do this. Some time ago - as an experiment - I connected two USB mice, one connected to a USB port and the other via an adapter to a standard mouse port. They both functioned and did not appear to interfere with each other at all.

€dstowe 08:47 26 Nov 06

Could you arrange them to have different functionality?

VoG II 09:01 26 Nov 06