adding photos to CVs

Daisy22 18:28 06 Jun 06

Is there a downloadable free trial package to put a passport sized photo onto a word document?

If not, is there another way to do this, i.e. have text and add a small photo?

many thanks

mattyc_92 18:33 06 Jun 06

Simply go to "Insert->Picture->From File" and resize the image when it is in the document.

Then just use a "Text Box" to type something over the image/directly underneth it

Chris the Ancien 20:50 06 Jun 06

As an aside... as a manager who has read many CVs...

Photos of the applicant are a dead turn off.

A simple, single page CV with plenty of 'action' words covering your last 5-6 years usually suffices.

When I was going through piles of CVs, I went through three stages:

1. 5 seconds look for presentation. And if that passed...

2. 20 seconds looking for highlights. And if that passed...

3. Actually read it!

pj123 21:08 06 Jun 06

Agree with Chris the Ancien. Don't put photo's on CVs.

I was a trainer for a County Council helping to get unemployed back in to work. Part of the job was writing CVs for them. Keep it down to one page but with all the relevant facts.

NO PHOTOs PLEASE.

Taff™ 08:12 07 Jun 06

I agree in the first instance. Your 1 or 2 page CV is what gets you the interview. I once had a candidate for first interview who brought an identical CV but with a photograph - that kept her "image" right at the forefront of the interview panel when they were discussing the candidates at the end of the decision process.

Comments like, "which one was the one that..." and "No, I preferred the guy that.... who was that?" just didn`t happen - they all gravitated to the CV with the photograph because that one was the easiest to remember and relate to. They spent more time discussing this candidiate than all the rest put together. Brilliant Tactic!

Daisy22 08:34 07 Jun 06