Adding a larger hard disk

Pier1 20:19 26 Jan 03

Hi, I'm thinking of getting a large hard drive (maybe an 80GB one) to complement or replace my existing 4GB. However, I don't know how to check if I can connect a second hard disk to my PC, whether as a slave or master. I can't see a spare ribbon cable, power cable or bay in the PC. Does this mean I can only have one connected?

I'm new to hard disk adding/replacing, so any help would be great.

I have an HP Brio BA desktop PC by the way.

Lú-tzé 20:36 26 Jan 03

There are usually two ribbons - a primary and a secondary - and these have two connectors - a master and a slave.

As for a power cable, if you don't have a spare, you can pick up a Y-splitter cable for a pound in a computer fair or £3 in PC World (saves waiting till Saturday).

If all else fails, you can purchase a PCI card which will give you an extra EIDE channel.

What do you have at the moment? HDD and CD-ROM I suppose.

Pier1 20:52 26 Jan 03

Drives in my computer:

HDD
CD ROM
CD RW
3.5" Floppy

Ribbons (3 of them):

To HDD - one connector
To CD-ROM and CD-RW - 2 connectors
To Floppy - one connector

So it looks like they're all taken up.

Are EIDE channel PCI's expensive? Also, can I fit the extra hard disk in the PC even tho there are no spare bays? eg bolted to the case or something?

What do people normally do in this case?

Lú-tzé 20:56 26 Jan 03

I think that you should do a complete backup to CD-r and then -replace- your hard disk rather than add a second.

You could replace the ribbon to the hdd with a ribon which has two connectors.

If you have no spare bay, then you will have a problem anyway.

On the whole, I would replace the hdd - partition it into different sections and it will be good.

Elrond 20:56 26 Jan 03