Adding frames in frontpage

SumKindaMonster 13:47 02 Mar 04

I have my site split into a table with four sections i was wondering if i could make the main section where the main text is on the new page into a frame so i can scroll down when i add more entrys without the navigation moving.

take a look at my site and let me know.

click here

sorry about the popups they are a temporary thing while i change hosts and geta domain name.

Do frames slow the loading of a webpage at all?

im new to this stuff

Taran 14:26 02 Mar 04

Yes, you could and its pretty easy. FrontPage has a lot of built in framesets to choose from.

A link to look at is click here for a visual aid to ceating your own frames in FrontPage.

A word or three of warning: frames are well past their sell by date and have a whole load of potential problems to contend with. One of the biggest is search engine indexing for site recognition and this is not to be sniffed at.

Tables are by far the best way of laying a site out in static HTML or XHTML and offer the very best control over layout, search engine recognition and browser software and its ability to 'read' and render the age properly.

An inline frame tutorial is click here

This could work where you main page [top, left navigation and bottom footer area] remain the same and all content is loaded into one frame in the middle of the screen.

I'd still suggest that you stick with tables though.

SumKindaMonster 14:32 02 Mar 04

are they seriosuly that bad? or do you personally dislike them? wouldnt users fing it annoying scrolling all the way down a page to find that they have to scroll all the way back to the top to get to the navigation?

Taran 15:03 02 Mar 04

Yes, they are seriosuly that bad and yes, I don't personally like them.

In brief, the trouble with frames is that they are 2 or more web pages displayed jigsaw fashion as one page.