Is it that you are confused by the changed sequence.
When you click the update button you are told there is a new file available, you click yes and then it asks if you want any new updates to the software (not much point if on the free version, so say no) The dialogue goes away, and that's it. There is no download bar as before, in fact no indication as to what is happening at all, so it may appear to have failed. If you wait a while it will eventually tell you that the update is complete. Close the program and then restart it and it will show the updated definition file.