Acronis TrueImage7-only works once

cocteau48 15:43 23 Jan 07

I posted this thread on the Acronis forum but with no response-perhaps they thought that I was being a bit cheeky still using the freebie version!
"Being an absolute beginner to this imaging business and have just purchased my first external hard drive I downloaded Acronis7 to give it a try - and it worked beautifully - creating an image of my entire hard drive in under 20 minutes.
However the next time I tried to repeat the exercise the prog just hung at the last stage telling me that no backup had started.
I ended up uninstalling and reinstalling the prog and once again it worked perfectly but the scenario repeated itself - when I attempted to use it a second time it hung at the last stage.
Can anyone point out where I may be going wrong here?"
(Yes I know I should have posted it on the best(PCA) forum first time round.)
Edit/Delete Message

terryf 15:45 23 Jan 07

Bite the Bullet and buy the latest version TI 10, you won't regret it ever

cocteau48 15:53 23 Jan 07

I would certainly consider buying the latest version terryf but would still like to find out if I am doing something wrong with the version which I am using at present.

Mr Mistoffelees 15:55 23 Jan 07

I had the same problem with Acronis True Image 7 from a magazine cover disk. I dumped it as it doesn't exactly inspire confidence. Now using Paragon Drive Back-up 8 from a later issue of the same mag.

terryf 15:58 23 Jan 07
  six-h 16:33 23 Jan 07

I am pleased to see this posting as I too have a free copy of ATI (Either 7 or 8) from another mag cover disk and since I am currently running XP SP1 and want to connect to the internet soon,I have bought an external HD onto which I want to image my system as is (since it is working quite well) Then install SP2 and when satisfied all is well, re-image my system so that I have a Fall back in case it all goes mamery's aloft!