Acronis True Image 9 - Incremental Images

tammer 22:17 11 May 07

Well guys,

It finally happened to me. Windows went pear shaped and kept freezing within seconds of start up. I thought - I know, I bought an external hard drive and Acronis True Image (ATI) and I've taken a full disk image, and incremental images every so often so that my laptop's hard drive is mirrored on my Ext HDD, so I'll be fine.

However, how on earth does one restore the incremental images? The ATI software appears to only allow one image to be restored at a time, and asks you to delete the existing partition before doing so. Surely then, if you try and load up your increments, you have to wipe the full (newly restored) back up first.

In the end, I inadvertently wiped my hard drive (ok, I'm a bit of a novice with windows failures) and have had to reinstall windows from scratch. ATI would appear to have its strengths, but it's really not very good if you're not familiar with it.

Does anyone know how I would have been able to get an up to date image (including increments) on to my laptop?

woodchip 22:21 11 May 07

You should be able to Restore a Image using the Acronis boot disc, then restore from Hard Drive. you should not need to touch your XP disc when using Acronis

Trackrat 23:55 11 May 07

The incremental back ups are only changes made since you took the full image.
As Woodchip says you use an Acronis boot disk.
When it starts the restore it restores the full image and the incremental images as well.
It has saved my bacon a few times.

beeuuem 00:38 12 May 07

When you restore you can select which incremental image you want to restore. If you had a problem with your last setup you can restore to a point before you made any recent changes which are on your last incremental backup.
TI will restore the full image plus those increments up to the one you choose. If you choose the last image you made it wll restore the full first image and all the incremental images.

tammer 06:51 12 May 07