Acronis True Image 2012

hiwatt 14:25 10 Oct 11

Hi folks. I've just got myself Acronis TI(Home)2012.This is my first Acronis product and I am completely new to backup software altogether.I was wondering if anyone can help me with the installation side of things first?It's a bootable dvd!Do I install the disc just like any other?There's a leaflet saying to go online and register the product.Do I install the dvd first.Any help is much appreciated

hiwatt 14:36 10 Oct 11

Right I just registered the product.I'm just wondering,the fact that it's a bootable dvd will I have to boot from cd/dvd drive to install Acronis?Also if it's a bootable disc,do I still have to create a bootable cd to be able to restore?I'd rather know exactly what to do before attempting it and possibly doing it wrong!Thanks folks.

iscanut2 14:40 10 Oct 11

Yes, to install it, put DVD in drive and it should Auto Start to allow program to install. There is no need to create bootable media as the original DVD that you have is used to restore, although you will have to set the BIOS to boot from CD?DVD rather than your C: drive if and when the need occurs.

hiwatt 10:09 11 Oct 11

Thank you iscanut!

hiwatt 13:34 11 Oct 11

Hi folks! I am trying to install Acronis true image just now. After running the disc I am presented with a few folders.ATIH2012,Auto run,guide,demo,recovery manager,autorun.exe. I presume the ATIH2012 is the correct folder!However inside the folder there are 2 ATIH install files.The first one is called ATIH201250 60en-EU.exe.The other one is ATIH2012 ADD ONS 5060_en-EU.exe.There is no clear instructions in the manual how to install it.I'm presuming it is the first one but any help again is much appreciated.

northumbria61 15:01 11 Oct 11

The 1st one is the .exe file - ie: Program Install File - the 2nd one is Add-Ons

hiwatt 15:07 11 Oct 11