Acronis TI "Cannot assign a drive letter"

Skeletor 21:18 28 Jun 05

Hi all,

I have Acronis TrueImage Deluxe (the one that comes free with PC mags from time to time). I've been using it for about 18 months with no problem...until now.

About 6 months ago I created an image using Acronis TI, and saved it to DVD (6 Disks). I now want to access a couple of files that I think maybe on (or is it IN) the image. I copied the tib files from the DVD's to a seperate drive that I use for backups. Now, when I try to explore the files using Acronis TI, I get the message "ERROR, Cannot assign a drive letter to a partition from the image archive".

I have other images that I can explore with no problem, the only difference being that they weren't split for DVD.

I've checked the Acronis site, and it appears to be a fairly common problem. BUT, no one seems to have a solution. Hopefully someone here can help.

Manyn thanks,

Steve

MIke 21:42 28 Jun 05

I haven't used TI for this myself, but just a thought, have you tried accessing the image file from the dvd's direct rather than copying the split image back to a hard drive? Maybe TI needs to 'see' the original file structure on the dvd's.

I've also found the e-mail support service from Acronis to be very helpful, though it does take a few days to get a reply.

Skeletor 21:49 28 Jun 05

Thanks Mike,

Yes, I tried that first, but no joy. Acronis do say that images copied to DVD should be copied back to the HD for restoring or exploring.

Steve

MIke 22:30 28 Jun 05

Hello again