Acronis 2011 and back up validation

exdragon 16:58 04 Jan 11

Hi - I've just upgraded to 2011 and carried out a back up to an external hard drive. I validated it, but instead of the description changing to, 'The back up is valid', it hasn't changed from, 'The back up has successfully completed'.

Am I missing something? I did try a couple of times.

Thanks

961 17:09 04 Jan 11

I find Acronis truly mind baffling and have recently switched to Genie Timeline 2.1 which seems to work without me needing a superbrain

woodchip 18:53 04 Jan 11

Try creating a Image by booting with the Acronis CD and check the backup after. Also I find they seem better created to a internal drive or Partition, then copy to external drive and checked after

exdragon 23:22 04 Jan 11

Thanks, woodchip, but I've never done that before. I just wondered why the back up didn't show as being valid.

woodchip 11:49 05 Jan 11

I have the same problem when writing direct to Ex USB drive

woodchip 11:50 05 Jan 11

Also setting Compression too high can corrupt the image, you can set this to a lower compression and try it

exdragon 13:23 05 Jan 11

Hmm - I've always done my back ups to a USB external drive without any problem. I've never done anything with the compression - a search for that word produced no results!

john bunyan 13:37 05 Jan 11

For the above reasons I do a clone rather than an image. More space hungry, but I have a drive (in a Removable caddy) dedicated to the clone. My Data (including e Mail) is in a sepeate partition and I use Freefilesynch or Synch Toy to make frequent mirror copies of the data.
I have twice had to try to use an ATI image and failed - (I also do an image to an external HD!!) and in each case the image did not work whereas the clone did. Maybe it's me but I will stick to the clone - takes no longer than a validated ATI image.

exdragon 13:50 05 Jan 11