Access 2000 query message box

Carpigiani 10:18 05 Dec 03

I am creating a database in MS Access 2000.
I have a table holding customer information, including which county they are from.
I have created a query with a message box saying "Please Enter County." This works fine, it brings up all the records with the county that is typed in.

I would like a message box to open and tell the user "No records found" if they type a county into the message box which asks them to input the county.

Anyone have any ideas on how to do this in Access 2000? Any ideas on how to do it using SQL or VBA?

Big Elf 11:34 05 Dec 03

I don't know of a way do do that but why not have them choose a county from a choice list that includes them all.

Big Elf 11:36 05 Dec 03

I should have said that I don't know of a way to do that because I have limited knowledge of Access rather than imply it's not possible.

Carpigiani 20:27 05 Dec 03

Your idea is OK in theory, but the query is to show the records, if there aren't any records i need it to tell the user this.

Carpigiani 23:57 07 Dec 03

Still got the problem, wondered if there is anyone else around now that might be able to help?
My computing teachers AND the college technicians have so far failed to find a solution, and they have been running A level MS Access projects for years. Oh well, here's hoping.

skeletal 12:50 08 Dec 03

Try this:

Create a table called table1 and set up three fields called ID, Name and Country. Make a form called Form1 and put a button on it. Keep the name of the button "Command1".

Put this code in, using the VBA editor (right click your new button in design view and chose build event) but make sure you end up with only 1 "Sub_command1_Click as Access will generate one automatically for you:

Option Compare Database
Option Explicit
Dim CountryName As String, String1 As String
Dim stDocName As String
Dim rec
Dim num As Integer
Dim qdf As QueryDef

Private Sub Command1_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Command1_Click